Open menu

Davidson Named NCCAA Central Region Player of the Year; Cochran & Carmichael Also Receive Top Honors

Mar 07, 2019

Pic of Davidson shooting w recognition for award
Ethan Davidson

Pic of Cochran ready to pass w recognition of award
Brandt Cochran

Carmichael shooting w recognition for award
Heath Carmichael

OKLAHOMA CITY – In conjunction with the NCCAA Central Region Championship at Mid-America Christian University, the All-Central Region Teams were announced on Wednesday afternoon. The teams and honorable mentions consisted of 17 players from seven different institutions.

College of the Ozarks’s Ethan Davidson was named the region Player of the Year, and Oklahoma Wesleyan University’s Donnie Bostwick took home region Coach of the Year Honors.

Davidson, a 6-5 senior from Hollister, Missouri, scored 25.3 points per game on the season for the Bobcats, who posted a 22-10 record during the year. He shot the ball at a .563 clip from the floor, and an 85% pace from the foul line. He also pulled in 8.5 rebounds per game for C of O.

Bostwick led the Eagles to a 30-3 record during the season, and a 22-2 record in Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference play. OKWU opened the season 17-0 and they ran off another 10-game winning streak in January and February. The record was good enough to earn OKWU one of the four top-seeds in the NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball National Tournament.

Davidson’s teammate Brandt Cochran joined him on the All-Region First Team, and two OKWU Eagles – KJ Malveau and Josh Wilchombe were also honored. Southwestern Assemblies of God University’s Nykolas Mason was the final member of the First Team.

MACU’s Anthony Black led things off on the Second Team, and he was joined by SAGU’s Josh Kashila, Jericho Avera from Southwestern Christian University, and Steve Kuminga and Jubril Osagie from Central Christian College of Kansas.

Seven players were Honorable Mention All-Region – Darius Madkin from SCU, Justin Bogle and Charles Beauregard, Jr. from MACU, OKWU’s Isaac Rowe, Heath Carmichael from C of O, Dru Aguilare of Nebraska Christian College, and Cash Krueger from Ecclesia College.