Open menu

Lady Cat & Bobcat Cross Country Teams Claim A.I.I. Championships and Top Runner Awards

Nov 10, 2019

women's cross country team and men's cross country team posing near the course, holding their championship banners
A.I.I. Champions - C of O Lady Cats & Bobcats

Head shot of Money
Abigayle Money

head shot of Baumer
Samuel Baumer

It was a great day for College of the Ozarks men’s and women’s cross country teams.  Both the Lady Cats and Bobcats recorded 1st Place team finishes in the Association of Independent Institutions (A.I.I.) Cross Country Conference Championships held Saturday in Lawrence, Kan.

The Lady Bobcats put on quite a show, as their top five runners finished in first through fifth place.  Freshman Abigayle Money (Buncombe, Ill) finished first out of 37 runners with a time of 19:50.59 in the 5-kilometer event.  She was followed by freshman Janelle Staal (2nd-20:15.22), junior Adeline Holder (3rd-20:20.79), senior Hannah Duncan (4th-20:23.05), and junior Bethany Marteney (5th-20:45.00).  Sophomore Mary Zimmerman finished 9th (21:43.29) and freshman Rachel Zimmerman was 17th (23:44.28). 


As a team, the Lady Cats posted a time of 1:41:34, scoring 15 points.  Cottey College (Mo.) came in second with 50 points, and Holy Family College (Wis.) finished third with 81 points.


The Bobcats followed up with a first-place team finish of their own, although it was a much closer race.  C of O scored 31 points, posting a team time of 2:18:02.  They were followed by host Haskell Indian Nations University (Kan.) with 39 points and Holy Family College with 67.  


The Bobcats were led by junior Samuel Baumer (Columbia, Mo.), who recorded a first-place time of 26:28.15 out of 49 runners participating in the 8-kilometer event.  Sophomore Garrett Pierce followed in second place with a 27:02.25.  Junior David Byrd posted a 7th place finish (27:53.52), sophomore Wesley Moore was 9th (28:08.63), and Noah Rutledge crossed the line in 12th place (28:29.60).  Bobcat freshman Adin Hiebsch and sophomore Mason Apperson finished 15th and 17th respectively to complete the team’s successful finish.


Full race results can be found on the schedule page of the website or at:


The first-place finishes qualify both teams for the NAIA National Championships being held in Vancouver, Washington in two weeks. 


In the meantime, C of O will host the National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA) 2019 DI & DII Men’s & Women’s National Championships in Point Lookout this coming weekend, with the events taking place on the College’s campus at 10 a.m. and 11 a.m. on Saturday, November 16.  Admission is $5 per vehicle.




Hearty congratulations go out to Lady Cat Abigayle Money and Bobcat Samuel Baumer, who were named 2019 A.I.I. Runners of the Year.  In addition, congrats to head coach Clint Woods on being named as the men's and women's 2019 Coach of the Year..