April 23, 2014

Athletic Awards

the Chris Waller Outstanding Student Athlete AwardsOn Tuesday evening, April 22, the College of the Ozarks recognized the accomplishments of their athletes at the Annual Athletic Awards Banquet. Each coach introduced his/her team members and presented team awards and letters.

Following the team awards, the College recognized specific achievements, which included: the Bruiser T. Bobcat Award to junior Titus Goodrich for his school spirit; the Courage Award to senior J. T. Nixon for overcoming adversity; the NAIA Champions of Character Awards to Wren Wiebe (Women’s Basketball), Mallory Boone (Volleyball), Nathane Simniok (Men’s Basketball), Eddy Devora (Baseball), and Brandon Ashbee and Madison Pixley (Cheer Team).

MCAC Scholar Athlete Awards, which go to the male and female athletes with the highest GPA, were awarded to Emily Walker (Basketball) and Hayley Blair (Volleyball), as well as Eddy Devora (Baseball).

The most coveted award – the Chris Waller Outstanding Student Athlete Awards—were presented by Athletic Director Al Waller and Cheer Team Coach Marty Waller to Wren Wiebe and Nathane Simniok, both of whom are senior basketball players (pictured).

During the event, the Athletic Department recognized the excellent long-time service provided by Dr. Marilyn Graves (former Dean of the College, Division Chair, and Coach) and 27-year veteran Cheer Team Coach Marty Waller, who will pass the baton to School of the Ozarks Administrative Assistant Layne Wilks for the 2014-15 school year.